“The Gardens of Willowbend” Tour, Tea, and Author Talk

You’re invited to  ‘The Gardens of Willowbend’ on June 28

A Garden Tour, Tea, and Author Talk

May 15–The Friends of the Mashpee Library invites you to a very special event we are hosting at Willowbend in Mashpee,  Thursday, June 28, 2-5 PM.

Tour five private gardens, enjoy a discussion of The Gardens of Willowbend by Ari Maravel, and have an English-style tea at Willowbend Country Club. The event will occur rain or shine.

Tickets are $45 per person, advanced reservations only. To reserve your place, please send a check to Friends of the Mashpee Library, P.O. Box 900, Mashpee, MA 02649.

Payment via Paypal is available here:

Buy Now Button

If  you and your friends would like to reserve a table, please let us know.

All proceeds are to benefit the Mashpee Public Library.

Don’t miss this exclusive spring event!

For more information: Virginia Farwell 508-539-0939

Posted in Uncategorized

More than 350 Celebrate Mashpee Library Birthday and Mini-Golf

More than 350 people, young and old, celebrated Mashpee Public Library’s 8th birthday April 19, with refreshments, prizes, and free mini-golf. The Friends of the Mashpee Library sponsors the popular “Selander Open” mini-golf annually, with 18 holes, 9 downstairs and 9 upstairs.

The event is named for the Selander family, who contributed a $50,000 challenge matching grant to the Friends in 2015. The Friends group successfully met the challenge, and used the proceeds to establish an endowment for the library.

This was the third Selander Open, which has attracted more people each year. The event was covered by Mashpee TV and the Cape Cod Times.

A Big Thanks to All Our Sponsors

The Friends of the Mashpee Library would like to thank the generous community businesses and organizations who sponsored the 2018 Selander Open.

Cape Cod Five

Cape Cod Rehab

Dino’s Pizza & Sports Bar

Dunning, Kirrane, McNichols & Garner Attorneys at Law

Environ Skin Care

Karina and Abigail

The Lanes Bowl & Bistro

Mashpee Commons

Mashpee Kiwanis

Ninety-Nine Restaurant

Robert Fox Builders

Roche Bros.

Thomas J. O’Neill Real Estate

Whole Health Pharmacy

Willowbend Country Club

Women’s Club of New Seabury
in Honor of Gloria Selander

We also appreciate the raffle prizes donated by:

Mashpee Commons, Ninety-Nine Restaurant,
Sweet Waves, and White Lion Bakery

Posted in Uncategorized

Friends in Mashpee Enterprise’s “Check It Out”

mashpee enterprise article

Section of “Check it Out” from The Mashpee Enterprise

Posted in Uncategorized

Friends Present $25,000 to Mashpee Public Library and More

Friends Present $25,000 to Mashpee Public Library

The Friends of the Mashpee Library presented a check for $25,000 to the library Jan. 3, after a successful annual appeal campaign. The funds are to support technology initiatives, the purchase of materials, website update, and programs for children and adults.

“We are thrilled to have such wonderful help from the community to support our library,” said President Ginny Farwell. “The generosity of library patrons and supporters during our 2017 fundraising has been fabulous. We appreciate every contribution!”

Friends Treasurer Leslie Marsh (third from left) presents a check for $25,000 to Library Trustee Sandy Horsman (third from right).


‘Friend of the Year’ Award Presented to the Selander Family

At its annual meeting in December, the Friends presented its “Friend of the Year” award to the Selander Family, in honor of Gloria Selander. Mrs. Selander was a former Mashpee library director.

The Selander Family Fund gave the Friends a challenge grant of $50,000 in 2016, which the Friends successfully matched. The funds were used to launch an endowment for the library.

Previous recipients of the “Friend of the Year” award are Chip Bishop and Ed DeFoe.


New Executive Board Officers Elected

Also at the annual meeting, the Friends elected new officers: Virginia Farwell, president; Carolyn Markowski, vice president; Leslie Marsh, treasurer; Ann Macdonald, corresponding secretary; and Marje Hecht, recording secretary.

Members-at-large of the Friends Executive Board include: Janet Beal, Kathy Jodka, Kim Rowe, and Rosalie Slansky.

Kay Strakosch, a long-time Friends board member, was honored with a life-time Friends membership upon her retirement from the board.

Outgoing Friends president Ann Macdonald at the December 2017 annual meeting.

Retiring Friends executive board member Kay Strakosch.

Incoming Friends president Ginny Farwell and outgoing president Ann Macdonald.


Save the Date: April 19 for Mini Golf in the Library!

The Friends of the Mashpee Library will again celebrate the library’s birthday with free mini-golf in the library. The event will be the third “Selander Open,” and all are invited.

Posted in Award Ceremony, Newsletter | Tagged , , , , , ,

Annual Meeting, December 7th

Friends of the Mashpee Library Invites you to our

Annual Meeting

December 7th, 2017 at 4pm
at the Mashpee Public Library


During the meeting we will

  • Present Reports on Fundraising and Projects
  • Present the Library Director’s Report
  • Conduct Election of Officers
  • Present the Friend of the Year Award


The slate of officers proposed by the Friends nominating committee is

  • President: Ginny Farwell
  • Vice President: Carolyn Markowski
  • Treasurer: Leslie Marsh
  • Corresponding Secretary: Ann Macdonald
  • Recording Secretary: Marje Hecht
Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , ,

Become a Friend!

Become a Friend of the Mashpee Library!

Your gift is tax-deductible. We are a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization.

-Or – Make Checks Payable to:
Friends of the Mashpee Library
P. O. Box 900
Mashpee, MA 02649

Posted in Membership Drive | Tagged , , ,

Author Amy Kurzweil Featured October 2 at Friends’ Willowbend Luncheon

Friends of the Mashpee Library invites you to a luncheon with Amy Kurzweil, acclaimed cartoonist, teacher, and author of the graphic memoir,  The Flying Couch.  The event is at the Willowbend Country Club, Monday, Oct. 2, at noon.

Reservations are $35, and RSVPs are needed by September 29.  To pay by check, bring your payment to the library, where forms and envelopes are available at the Circulation Desk, or mail your check to FML at P.O. Box 900, Mashpee, MA 02649. To reserve your spot, click the link below:

Buy Now Button

 The Flying Couch

The award-winning Flying Couch tells the story of Amy’s coming-of-age as a granddaughter of a Holocaust survivor who escaped from the Warsaw Ghetto during World War II and survived by working on farms as a gentile. Amy uses humor and her art to cope with her grandmother’s story, and to bring alive the stories of three generations of women: her grandmother, her mother (a child psychologist), and herself.

FlyingCouch_300dpi print res cover_Stars


Posted in Uncategorized